WHO IS A MERCHANT?

Missouri Law, 150.010 RSMo, indicates that every person, corporation, co-partnership or association of persons, who deals in selling goods, wares and merchandise at any store, stand or place occupied for that purpose, is a “merchant”.

DO I NEED A CRAWFORD COUNTY MERCHANT’S LICENSE FOR MY BUSINESS?

Yes! If your business grosses at least $2500.00 per year and you answer “yes” to all the items in the checklist below ($2500.00 limit was established by the County Commission in 2006):

  • You own or operate a business; and
  • The business is conducted in Crawford County either within or outside the city limits of any
  • incorporated area; and
  • There is a sales tax number issued to the business by the Missouri Department of Revenue; and
  • Product or merchandise is sold at retail; and
  • You collect and remit sales tax to the Missouri Department of Revenue.

HOW DO I OBTAIN A MERCHANT’S LICENSE?

This office compiles a database using information from the Missouri Department of Revenue, and will mail out merchant license applications annually. If you are a new business, or you have not received an application, call our office at 573-775-2845. We will be happy to answer your questions and send you an application. Or, if you prefer, come by the office and we will help you through the process. Important to SEND OR BRING A COPY OF YOUR SALES TAX NUMBER ALONG.

Please complete the application, sign, and mail along with $25.00 to Crawford County Collector, P.O. Box 250, Steelville, MO 65565.

Your state sales tax number must be included on the application. If you need more information regarding state sales taxes, please contact the Missouri Department of Revenue in Jefferson City (573) 751-5860.

Your validated license will be mailed to you at the address included on the application. A merchant’s license is issued for the calendar year of January 1 through December 31. The annual license fee is $25.00. A business with more than one permanent location is required to obtain a separate license for each place of business. A county issued merchant’s license is in addition to any city or other local business license you may have.

Note: If your business has been in violation, or has had its Missouri Sales Tax License revoked, you must provide our office with a Certificate of No Tax Due from the State of Missouri before we can issue a county merchant’s license. If you need to obtain a Certificate of No Tax Due, contact the Missouri Department of Revenue Taxation Bureau at 573-751-9268.